Frozen Treats / Mom Badge / Recipes

Veganesque Chocolate Banana Ice Cream – No Dairy, No Eggs, No nuts


I scored a Brand New In Box (BNIB) Disney ice cream maker for $20 on my local Buy and Sell group on FB. I wanted to make my own since my Little One (LO) has so many allergies. We get him sherbet at the Baskin Robbins or local ice cream parlour since it doesn’t include any dairy products, but even with the ice cream scoop being rinsed after scooping ice cream, my LO still gets a slight allergic reaction.

Disney Ice Cream Maker

After searching several sites, I combined a few together and created my version of  Veganesque Chocolate Banana Coconut Ice Cream

  • 2 frozen bananas
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 can coconut cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • Optional Extras:  1 cup mini marshmallows, 1 cup frozen blue berries
  1. mix it all together in a blender
  2. Pour into ice cream maker and follow ice cream maker instructions
  3. Add extras if desired during last 5 minutes of mixing in ice cream maker

Tips:

  • Most sites say to use coconut milk, but after reading the instructions for the ice cream maker, I chose to use coconut cream.  Basically, the higher fat content, the more creamier it is.  Hence, if you want a more ice cream consistency use a higher fat non-dairy alternative
  • I use Savoy Coconut Cream.  The ingredients are the most natural I have found so far.  I wouldn’t use coconut cream in a box for this

Coconut-Milk-4 Coconut-Milk-3

  • Pour into a popsicle maker with some chopped strawberries before adding it to the ice cream maker
  • Next time I’ll use honey or brown sugar instead of white sugar
Leave a Reply

